Nov 19 2008
Facebook - Tabmodule.com Scam!
No one is ever happy when they get scammed. Just the other day I received an e-mail from a friend of mine who supposedly wrote on my facebook wall. The message said something like this: “Did youu know that your default image is being displayyed on tabmodule.com?” There was a link to the tabmodule “site.” Now before you judge me, it seemed trustworthy because it came from facebook and was from a well trusted friend (even though I thought the spelling was striking). Nonetheless I clicked on the link “tabmodule.com” and was brought to a site. In the background of the site you could make out hazy pictures of people. The site asked for various personal information which I didn’t provide and the various questions and ads went on and on. Later I talked with a friend about this issue and was told that his myspace page was hacked into and that he had the same message as well. Apparently these hackers break into your myspace/facebook account when you click on the e-mail link, and then uploads your contacts, and then sends them a phony message from you. Each time someone clicks on the provided link their contacts are uploaded and the message is sent out to their friends. Do not click on the link provided! This seems to be an advertisement scam in hopes of making money but one never knows. I changed my passwords the following day to secure my information. I hope that your travels through the internet are more safe and that these culprits would learn that their skills and talents could be used for good rather than evil.
Get ‘em, Paul! No spiritual application from this debacle? Maybe an allegorization?